top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbeer Alaloul

Guest blogger Abeer Alaloul: "How I use the arts as a tool for change"


My name is Abeer Alaloul. I am a Palestinian Canadian poet, educator, author and performer currently living in Dubai. At the heart of everything I do lies my passion for creativity, and for cultivating it to make a difference in this world. I am excited to share with you the story of my background and how I use poetry as a tool for powerful change.



My story began as a shy young immigrant girl leaving Palestine with my family to grow up in Ontario. I was trying to understand my identity and at the same time trying to fit in with everything around me. I was always drawn to the arts as it was always a space where I felt free to express myself without judgement. I kept a journal where I would write stories, poems, reflections and songs. I would use poetry as an outlet when I was sad or anxious and did not understand how to manage my emotions. I never thought of myself as a poet; writing was always a way to make sense of my feelings and to process emotions. Looking back now, I realize that this was the beginning of my journey as a writer. I have since realized that being a poet is observing everyday things with a different lens. Perhaps magnifying the details and stopping to stare at the ordinary things, while transforming them into art. In my case, this has meant pouring out raw emotions, struggles and frustrations to make sense of this world.



How can art be a powerful tool to advocate for change?


I had many defining experiences on my journey as a poet and performer. My background with activism has inspired me to create poetry that raises awareness about social justice issues. It began when I decided to move back to Palestine for a short period after high school and joined the freedom theatre as an actress. The purpose of this grassroot community was to use art as a form of resistance against societal oppression and the occupation. This particular theatre was located in a refugee camp and provided a haven for youth to express their frustrations in a positive, healthy way.

While living in Palestine, I learned more about my culture and experienced life as a female Palestinian under occupation. I appreciated how the arts are also a powerful tool to help mental health and overall wellbeing in a community. Through enjoying performance and acting as an outlet it helped me to understand my identity, deal with personal struggles and eventually build confidence.


My love for arts and storytelling influenced my decision to study English Language and Literature where I eventually received a bachelor’s in arts. During my time again in university in Ontario I joined various NGOs and university organizations to support social justice issues. I used what I learned and directed theatre productions and events for charity, poetry events, protests, and exhibitions to provide a voice for marginalized communities. I believe that I can use the arts as a tool to advocate for meaningful change. Poetry is a powerful tool that connects people from multiple cultures as a way of sharing stories and therefore promoting tolerance.


Most of the time, people do not want to talk about politics and as a Palestinian sometimes even expressing your story is labelled as ‘too political’. As an Arab woman many topics are taboo for open discussion and society places barriers constraining female freedoms. However, when you tell your story in an artistic way through poetry, storytelling, dance, or theatre - powerful connections and feelings are evoked which break down those limiting social barriers.



From a secret diary to a published book


I continued to explore and lived in different parts of the world as I wrote in my journals. I only began to share my work and perform poetry in my late twenties when I was exposed to poetry open mics and poetry slams. To get back on stage while attending poetry slams in the United Arab Emirates was a big moment for me as I faced my fears of sharing my own work. I was instantly hooked and became a regular performer at Roof top rhythms, Dubai Poetic and Blanc space. I kept pushing my comfort zone and eventually started an Instagram profile poetree.narrative as a platform to express myself digitally and connect with like-minded poets and readers. The purpose of this page was to challenge societal expectations, raise awareness and a desire to connect with others globally.



Journey through publishing “Life in Pieces”


I decided to make my dreams come to life by publishing a book – a terrifying experience when I considered the feeling and emotion contained in the writing. I had a collection of hundreds of poems just sitting in journals gathering dust. From this broad collection I refined the poems to piece together a story to follow my chosen theme. The collection of poetry I published is from different stages of my life and experiences I have gone through over the past 10 years to create the story.


The book uses elements of nature to guide readers through different stages of life, inviting the reader on an emotional and intellectual journey. Each chapter illustrates an intimate story that touches on heartbreak, healing, feminism, identity, colonialism, and the rediscovery of love. It also voices the narrative of marginalized communities while challenging societal norms. My work uses elements of nature and amplifying the importance of ancestral roots.


I faced many challenges through my publishing journey. The biggest obstacle was dealing with mental barriers of self-doubt and fear. I was afraid of putting my work out there for others to read. After my first publisher rejections, I experienced doubt about my ability and even put my writing on pause. I had to take time to reflect and remind myself that I am doing this because it is my passion and that my words could really help others. I pushed through all the difficult emotions and eventually accomplished my dream in February 2021. When my book launched it was incredible to see how well it was received. It reached number 1 in new releases in Canadian poetry. Also number 3 in top sellers and top 10 in women authors. Connecting with readers globally is powerful and inspires me to keep on writing. This hits home mostly when women reach out and express that they feel like their story and their struggles are voiced. My work allows me to begin important conversations about various issues for women and other injustices.



Combining education and poetry


My passion for creativity and the arts are integrated into my passion for education. I use creativity to inspire students to always create and push the boundaries. Poetry and the arts helped me when I was younger and as a teacher, I provide students with a platform to express themselves through the arts in all subjects. I help students action through projects that will make a difference in the world.


I have organized poetry and drama clubs in schools and poetry open mics where students performed their own written work. I have organized art exhibitions where students created artwork to advocate for change. Currently I am carrying out poetry workshops, book launch, poetry readings from my book with middle and high school students.


How does poetry help students?


Poetry is a tool for students to express themselves in a positive way. It is a creative outlet to help them manage their emotions and sort through difficulties that they face. It can help them work through their fears, anxieties and insecurities. Poetry can also be a tool to advocate for social justice issues and change for a better world. Students can take agency through words

and feel empowered. It can also help students deal with mental health struggles especially during the pandemic, as writing can be a therapeutic way to focus on personal well being. Finally, poetry allows students to connect with other writers and have a sense that they are not alone.


Tips for new writers and how to connect


My suggestion is to set time in your schedule to focus on your creativity where you allow yourself to be vulnerable and speak from the heart with no expectations or judgements. Always remember that you are doing it with love and do not compare yourself to others. Once you face self-doubt, fear, and judgements then you unleash limitless possibilities and can accomplish your dreams.


Make sure to check out my poetry page (@poetree.narrative) and if you like what you see, my book ‘Life in Pieces’ which is available on Amazon here. I'm looking forward to connecting with you and hearing what you have to say!



74 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page